Hugo Awards & Worldcon


A new year brings a new awards season for the Science Fiction & Fantasy community, with one of the heavyweights being the annual Hugo Awards. As listeners of Radio Free Skaro will know, Doctor Who has been a mainstay at the Hugos since its return in 2005, garnering multiple awards for Steven Moffat, Russell T Davies and Phil Ford; we’re sure the Best Dramatic Presentation: Short Form category will again be dominated by our favourite show. Many eligible to vote for the Hugos will hopefully share our sentiment of Neil Gaiman’s The Doctor’s Wife and Tom MacRae’s The Girl Who Waited being worthwhile contenders in that category and carrying on the tradition of Doctor Who’s success.

Anyone who is a member of Worldcon from Renovation in Reno last year, from ChiCon in Chicago this year, or LoneStarCon in San Antonio in 2013 is eligible to nominate works for the Hugo Awards. We at Radio Free Skaro have been privileged to get to know some fine folks whose work is worthy of consideration, such as Lynne Thomas and Deborah Stanish who are eligible for Whedonistas; Rob Shearman whose Everyone’s Just So So Special has strong contenders such as “Restoration”; Phil Ford who penned the Sarah Jane Adventures story The Curse of Clyde Langer, and countless others to name but a few. We wish each and every one of our friends the best of luck in the nomination phase for the upcoming Hugo Awards and urge eligible voters to consider their works.

Radio Free Skaro is also eligible for nomination in the newly-created Best Fancast category and if you are an eligible voter who plans to submit nominations, please feel free to consider our podcast when you cast your ballot.

If you’re interested in the Hugo Awards nomination process, please refer to the Hugo website for more information. Those who are members for 2011, 2012 or 2013 are eligible to nominate works so long as your membership is acquired by January 31, 2012. The deadline for casting your ballots is the end of the day on March 11, 2012. For a brief history of past Hugo winners, have a look at those who triumphed last year, including the-book-that-could, Chicks Dig Time Lords.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: